
Buying guideUpdated Nov 1, 2026
How to import a Chinese electric car into Qatar (2026)
CRAVEUO EV Export · Sources last checked 2026-11-01 · General information, not legal advice. We do not clear customs in Qatar. Nothing here is a promise or a quote.
Quick answer
A Qatari or a resident with a valid residence permit can import a car for personal use, but a visitor cannot register one. Customs treats a personal import as non-commercial and the importer must not be a trader. Duty is 5%, VAT is not in force, and we found no relief for electric cars. The issue that decides most cases is GCC specification. Dealers and online platforms may not sell a car that lacks it, and an agent owes warranty and parts on a personal import only if the car has it. A China-market car may not have it, so get a written answer before you buy.
Key facts
Customs duty
What we found: 5% on customs value (goods, freight, insurance) for most goods
Source level: US Commerce guide, 2025. Decree 31 of 2026 updated the tariff; we did not read its vehicle lines
Relief for electric cars
What we found: Not found
Source level: No source
VAT
What we found: Not in force, no date announced
Source level: Tax-information site, search excerpt only
Who can import
What we found: Age 18 or over, Qatari or valid residence permit; visitors cannot import and register
Source level: Al Sharq, a lawyer's explanation, 2026-05-30
Personal import at customs
What we found: Show ID, passport or residence visa. Personal nature, non-commercial quantity, importer not a trader. Owner, representative or broker may file
Source level: Qatar Customs, read directly
Car age
What we found: Not more than 5 years
Source level: Customs FAQ, undated, read through a search excerpt only
Documents
What we found: Export certificate or export clearance, and a commercial invoice showing the value. Vehicle title for a used registered car
Source level: Customs FAQ; Resolution 1 of 2003, search excerpt
| Item | What we found | Source level |
|---|---|---|
| Customs duty | 5% on customs value (goods, freight, insurance) for most goods | US Commerce guide, 2025. Decree 31 of 2026 updated the tariff; we did not read its vehicle lines |
| Relief for electric cars | Not found | No source |
| VAT | Not in force, no date announced | Tax-information site, search excerpt only |
| Who can import | Age 18 or over, Qatari or valid residence permit; visitors cannot import and register | Al Sharq, a lawyer's explanation, 2026-05-30 |
| Personal import at customs | Show ID, passport or residence visa. Personal nature, non-commercial quantity, importer not a trader. Owner, representative or broker may file | Qatar Customs, read directly |
| Car age | Not more than 5 years | Customs FAQ, undated, read through a search excerpt only |
| Documents | Export certificate or export clearance, and a commercial invoice showing the value. Vehicle title for a used registered car | Customs FAQ; Resolution 1 of 2003, search excerpt |
The five-year count has two versions. One report counts from the date of manufacture; a car-sales site counts from the model year on the ownership papers. The Customs FAQ does not say which. It also answers a question about a car from the US, so we read it as a general rule, not as text written for China. Decision 21 of 2004, often cited for this rule, we could not find.
GCC specification: the rules that apply
Circular 2 of 2025
What it says: No sale, display or advertising of new or used cars that do not meet Gulf specification. Cars registered by 31 Dec 2025 may still be sold
Who it binds: Dealers and online platforms
Source: Al Jazeera; Qatar Tribune. Press, circular not read
Ministry's explanation
What it says: The circular does not cover cars individuals import for personal use
Who it binds: Commercial sale only
Source: Al Jazeera; The Peninsula. Press
Circular 1 of 2025
What it says: Agents must give warranty, parts and service to people who imported directly, on condition the car meets Gulf specification
Who it binds: Agents
Source: Al Sharq. Press, circular not read
GSO electric vehicle regulation
What it says: Cars that do not comply may not be imported or placed on the market. The manufacturer submits a certificate for each type. With no local agent, the importer carries the duties
Who it binds: All GCC states
Source: GSO MC-250905, Articles 1, 5, 8, 9. Start date not stated in the text
Registration
What it says: "GCC spec" alone does not guarantee registration; the Traffic Department checks separately
Who it binds: Traffic Department
Source: Qatar Living, press. No Interior Ministry text found
| Rule | What it says | Who it binds | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Circular 2 of 2025 | No sale, display or advertising of new or used cars that do not meet Gulf specification. Cars registered by 31 Dec 2025 may still be sold | Dealers and online platforms | Al Jazeera; Qatar Tribune. Press, circular not read |
| Ministry's explanation | The circular does not cover cars individuals import for personal use | Commercial sale only | Al Jazeera; The Peninsula. Press |
| Circular 1 of 2025 | Agents must give warranty, parts and service to people who imported directly, on condition the car meets Gulf specification | Agents | Al Sharq. Press, circular not read |
| GSO electric vehicle regulation | Cars that do not comply may not be imported or placed on the market. The manufacturer submits a certificate for each type. With no local agent, the importer carries the duties | All GCC states | GSO MC-250905, Articles 1, 5, 8, 9. Start date not stated in the text |
| Registration | "GCC spec" alone does not guarantee registration; the Traffic Department checks separately | Traffic Department | Qatar Living, press. No Interior Ministry text found |
Our reading: a China-market car counts as GCC-spec only if it falls inside the manufacturer's GSO certificate for that type. No Qatari or GSO text we found mentions China-market cars by name. The sale circular leaves a personal import alone, but the GSO text is wider, and we found nothing that reconciles the two. Such a car also has no claim on an agent, and our reading is that a dealer could not resell it later.
One trade report describes a six-month waiver from April 2026 for Chinese plug-in hybrids and range-extender cars, and says pure-electric cars stay outside it. We found no official document, so we do not rely on it.
Companies and resale
A trader in the Commercial Register may import directly under Law 2 of 2016, and US Commerce says other local entities may import and sell branded goods; an agent may claim commission unless the goods are for own use or re-export. We did not read the law. A company selling in Qatar needs GCC-spec cars under Circular 2. Separately, a law firm reports Circular 3 of 2025: a new car must be registered for one full year before export (search excerpt).
Charging and port
We found no current official connector rule. An older Kahramaa specification names CCS and CHAdeMO and does not say CCS2 or Type 2. We saw it only as a search excerpt; the PDF no longer opens. The Tarsheed network had more than 135 charging points by March 2025. China-market cars charge on GB/T, and we found no statement that public chargers support it. Ask which inlet your car has. Vehicle carriers use Hamad Port (press, search excerpt).
Models to ask about
China guide prices, not delivered prices. All are pure electric. The prices are for China-market cars. A GCC-spec version, where one exists, is a different car.
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥109,800
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥176,800
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥298,000
| Model | Type | China guide price from |
|---|---|---|
| Aion V | Battery-electric | ¥109,800 |
| XPeng G6 | Battery-electric | ¥176,800 |
| NIO ET5 | Battery-electric | ¥298,000 |
Send your country, model and version through the inquiry form. We tell you whether we can supply that car before any contract.
How an order works
- Ask the Traffic Department in writing whether it will register that model and version, and name the certificate it wants.
- Ask the seller for the GSO certificate that covers the exact VIN or version, not only the model name.
- Get a written quote from the export company named in the contract, and check the build date against the five-year limit.
- Sign the contract. Nothing is paid before it is signed, and payment goes only to the company account on the invoice.
- Your broker clears the car at customs and you pay the duty assessed. Then insure it and register it with the Traffic Department, which is a separate step from customs.
Common questions
Can a resident import an electric car?
Do electric cars pay less duty?
Can I bring in a China-market car for myself?
Will the local agent service my car?
How old can the car be?
Cars to start with
Want one of these cars shipped to your country?
Tell us your country and the version; we reply within one working day with an FOB reference price and the export route.
Sources (checked 2026-11-01)
- Qatar Customs: FAQ, undated, search excerpt
- Qatar Customs: importation procedures
- Qatar Customs: Resolution 1 of 2003, search excerpt
- US Commerce: Qatar import tariffs, 2025-08-20
- EY: Decree 31 of 2026
- Tax-information site: Qatar VAT, 2026
- Al Sharq: personal import conditions, 2026-05-30
- Qatar Living: vehicle import, 2026-07-27
- QMotor: import law, 2025-06-10
- Al Sharq: Circular 1 of 2025, 2025-01-08
- Al Jazeera: Circular 2 of 2025, 2025-08-16
- Qatar Tribune: grace period, 2025-08-13
- The Peninsula: scope of the circular, 2025-08-12
- GSO Technical Regulation MC-250905
- Trade report on a plug-in waiver, 2026-04-26
- The Peninsula: Law 2 of 2016, 2016-04-27
- US Commerce: Qatar distribution channels, 2025-08-06
- Mondaq: Circular 3 of 2025, 2025
- Kahramaa: charger specifications, undated, search excerpt only, file no longer opens
- MCIT: Tarsheed platform, 2025-03
- Gulf Times: Hamad Port, 2024 data
This guide is not legal or customs advice; the destination's customs and a licensed broker decide.


