
Buying guideUpdated Nov 1, 2026
Should you charge your EV to 100%? LFP and NMC compared (2026)
CRAVEUO EV Export · Sources last checked 2026-11-01 · General information. Your owner's manual comes first. Nothing here is a promise or a quote.
Quick answer
It depends on the battery in your car. Many long-range nickel (NMC) packs are meant to stop at about 80% for daily use, with 100% saved for long trips. Many iron-phosphate (LFP) packs need a regular full charge, about once a week or two, so the car can keep its charge reading accurate. The rule in your own owner's manual decides. First find out which battery you have.
What makers say
BYD Atto 3
Daily limit: Not stated as a limit
Full charge: At least once a week. From below 10% to full every three to six months
Source: Manual, printed p. 93
Kia, standard and extended batteries
Daily limit: About 80%
Full charge: When below 20%: charge to 100% once a month
Source: Owner's manual
Kia, economy battery
Daily limit: Not stated as a limit
Full charge: At least once every two weeks
Source: Owner's manual
XPENG (Australia), battery care guide
Daily limit: Stop around 90%
Full charge: Every two weeks or 1,000 km
Source: XPENG guide
XPENG (Australia), LFP and NMC guide
Daily limit: LFP and NMC: about 80%
Full charge: LFP: at least once a week
Source: XPENG guide
| Maker and car | Daily limit | Full charge | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| BYD Atto 3 | Not stated as a limit | At least once a week. From below 10% to full every three to six months | Manual, printed p. 93 |
| Kia, standard and extended batteries | About 80% | When below 20%: charge to 100% once a month | Owner's manual |
| Kia, economy battery | Not stated as a limit | At least once every two weeks | Owner's manual |
| XPENG (Australia), battery care guide | Stop around 90% | Every two weeks or 1,000 km | XPENG guide |
| XPENG (Australia), LFP and NMC guide | LFP and NMC: about 80% | LFP: at least once a week | XPENG guide |
Two things stand out. The Kia page does not say which chemistry each battery type uses. And XPENG's two guides do not agree on the daily limit, so even one maker can give more than one answer. When a guide and your manual differ, follow the manual.
Why the advice differs
NMC
XPENG says the consensus is to keep NMC between 20% and 80% for daily use and save 100% for trips. Geotab's fleet data fits this: cars that spent over 80% of their time at extreme charge levels lost 2.0% a year, against 1.4% for those under 50%.
LFP
XPENG says a weekly full charge is needed to reset the battery management system. In plain terms, the car works out how full the pack is, and a full charge gives it a reference point. BYD also says the charge reading may be wrong (printed p. 93) after first use or a long idle period, and recommends charging fully first.
How to find out which battery you have
- Look at the specification sheet for your exact version. Some models have both. XPENG's X9, for example, uses LFP in one version and NCM in another.
- Check the manual for a line on full charges.
- Ask the seller to confirm the chemistry in writing.
BYD's Blade Battery uses LFP, according to Global Fleet. The Atto 3 manual we read does not name the chemistry. Don't assume from the brand alone, because chemistry can vary by model and version.
A simple routine
If your manual says about 80%
- Set the charge limit to 80%.
- Charge to 100% just before a long trip, and leave soon after.
- Use slower charging at home when you can. Kia recommends AC and fast charging only when needed.
If your manual asks for regular full charges
- Charge to 100% at the interval it gives.
- For the Atto 3, also do the low-to-full charge every three to six months (printed p. 93).
For both
- Don't leave the car at very low charge. Kia says keeping above 20% helps.
- If the car will sit for more than a few days, a different rule applies. BYD says 40% to 60% (printed p. 96) for over seven days. See our storage guide.
Common questions
Does charging to 100% damage the battery?
Is 80% right for every EV?
What is the risk of never charging an LFP car to 100%?
Is it fine to fast charge to 100%?
My China-market car has no English manual. What now?
Want one of these cars shipped to your country?
Tell us your country and the version; we reply within one working day with an FOB reference price and the export route.
Sources (checked 2026-11-01)
- BYD: Atto 3 owner's manual, English edition; printed page numbers
- Kia: high-voltage battery, with battery types, owner's manual
- Kia: high-voltage battery, owner's manual
- XPENG Australia: EV battery care, maker's guide
- XPENG Australia: LFP and NMC batteries, maker's guide
- Geotab: EV battery health, page dated 2026-04-28
- Global Fleet: EV battery life, 2026-01-29
This guide is not legal or customs advice; the destination's customs and a licensed broker decide.