
KaufratgeberAktualisiert 30. Okt. 2026
How to Import a Chinese Electric Car into Bolivia in 2026
Diese Seite ist auf Englisch.
Updated 30 Oct 2026. Craveuo is an export platform, not a car brand and not an official dealer or agent of any brand. We do not clear customs in Bolivia. Nothing here is a promise, legal advice or a quote.
Short answer
The 0% ICE excise on new pure-electric cars and new petrol plug-in hybrids runs only to 31 Dec 2026 under Decree 5653, and we found no rule for 2027, so a car that clears after that date may pay more [1][5]. Customs duty is listed at 0% under a 2021 decree, and IVA of 14.94% is the main tax [2][3]. Before anything ships you need the manufacturer's original letter and an IBMETRO certificate for the Vice-Ministry of Transport's prior authorisation [13][14]. Without them we cannot say a car will clear, so ask first.
Before you ship: three checks
- ICE in 2027. Decree 5653 stops at 31 Dec 2026 and says nothing about the next year. Ask your customs agent which date counts for your car and what rate applies after it.
- Manufacturer's letter. For a new vehicle the prior authorisation asks for an original note from the manufacturer addressed to the applicant, plus a technical sheet, a test report, a notarised sworn declaration and the IBMETRO certificate [13]. Ask whether your seller can get that letter before you sign. We cannot promise it.
- Your powertrain. In the decree annex a new petrol plug-in pays 0% but a one-year-old one pays 10%, a diesel plug-in pays 15%, and range-extenders are not named [1]. Have your agent classify the car first.
Models to ask about
China guide prices, not delivered prices. For Zeekr, see our premium cars guide for Bolivia.
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥107,800
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥109,800
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥119,900
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥149,800
Type: Plug-in hybrid
China guide price from: ¥309,900
| Model | Type | China guide price from |
|---|---|---|
| Geely EX5 | Battery-electric | ¥107,800 |
| Aion V | Battery-electric | ¥109,800 |
| Changan Qiyuan A06 | Battery-electric | ¥119,900 |
| Geely Galaxy E8 | Battery-electric | ¥149,800 |
| Lynk & Co 900 | Plug-in hybrid | ¥309,900 |
Taxes in 2026
ICE excise, pure-electric cars (heading 8703.80)
Rate: 0%
Status: Decree 5653, signed 9 Jul 2026, valid to 31 Dec 2026 [1][5]
ICE excise, new plug-in hybrids with a spark-ignition engine (heading 8703.60)
Rate: 0%
Status: Decree 5653 annex, valid to 31 Dec 2026 [1]
Customs duty (GA), pure-electric cars
Rate: 0%
Status: Decree 4539 annex, 2021, read on an unofficial copy; check the 2026 tariff [2]
Customs duty (GA), plug-in hybrids (heading 8703.60)
Rate: 0%
Status: Decree 4539 annex, 2021, same unofficial copy; your agent confirms the classification [2]
IVA
Rate: 13% nominal (Law 843, Art. 15); 14.94% effective
Status: Nominal [6]; effective [3][7]
Verification fee
Rate: 1% of FOB value
Status: IBCE, page undated [3]
| Item | Rate | Status |
|---|---|---|
| ICE excise, pure-electric cars (heading 8703.80) | 0% | Decree 5653, signed 9 Jul 2026, valid to 31 Dec 2026 [1][5] |
| ICE excise, new plug-in hybrids with a spark-ignition engine (heading 8703.60) | 0% | Decree 5653 annex, valid to 31 Dec 2026 [1] |
| Customs duty (GA), pure-electric cars | 0% | Decree 4539 annex, 2021, read on an unofficial copy; check the 2026 tariff [2] |
| Customs duty (GA), plug-in hybrids (heading 8703.60) | 0% | Decree 4539 annex, 2021, same unofficial copy; your agent confirms the classification [2] |
| IVA | 13% nominal (Law 843, Art. 15); 14.94% effective | Nominal [6]; effective [3][7] |
| Verification fee | 1% of FOB value | IBCE, page undated [3] |
- A new customs tariff took effect on 1 Jan 2026. Press said electric vehicles keep or receive expanded reductions but gave no rates [8].
- Decree 5653 sets ICE only. Decree 4539 limited its ICE cut to five years from 7 Jul 2021 [2]. The rate after 31 Dec 2026 is to be confirmed.
- IVA: 13% or 14.94%? Both figures appear in our sources. Law 843 sets the general rate at 13% (version of 31 July 2026) [6]. The effective rate is 14.94% [3][7]. Our reading: IVA is included in its own base, so 13 ÷ (100 − 13) = 14.94% of the price before IVA (base: [9], a private tax site, not an official text). Do not add the two rates together. Our totals below use 14.94%. Your customs agent confirms the base.
Age limit: buy new
Decree 2232 limited imports from 1 Jan 2016 to vehicles up to one year old [4]. We found no 2026 text confirming this. The Decree 5653 annex lists passenger-car rates only for new and one-year-old vehicles (our reading) [1]. The 2006 import regulation bars vehicles whose steering was converted abroad and requires right-hand-drive vehicles to be converted in a national free zone, so choose factory left-hand drive [10].
A separate rule defines a "new" vehicle as one whose model year equals or follows the import year (Resolution 156/2020, 30 July 2020, citing Decree 28963) [11]. This is not the same wording as "up to one year old" above. Which rule applies is to be confirmed with your customs agent. Our advice stays the same: buy new.
Emissions: Euro II
Imported vehicles must meet Euro II or equivalent. Electric-only vehicles are excluded from the environmental certificate (Decree 4373, 19 Oct 2020) [12]. A plug-in hybrid has an engine, so check with a licensed customs agent in Bolivia.
Customs steps and documents
- The importer registers with the Aduana Nacional (Form 170). A customs agent is optional, but we suggest asking a Bolivian customs agent (despachante de aduana) which approvals and seller documents your import needs before you order. The DUI declaration goes through SIDUNEA, taxes are paid at Banco Unión within three business days, then a green, yellow or red channel applies [3].
- Documents: original commercial invoice showing FOB value, bill of lading, packing list, Parte de Recepción, Andean Value Declaration above US$5,000, and insurance and freight invoice copies. A certificate of origin is needed only for tariff preferences [3]. Bolivia's approvals (next bullet) also ask for a manufacturer letter and a test report [13].
- Approvals before shipping: IBMETRO must issue a Certificado de Aceptación (Ministerial Resolutions 064/2022 and, for hybrids, 119/2025). It is required for the prior authorisation from the Vice-Ministry of Transport (IBMETRO, checked 2026-10-28) [14]. For new vehicles that authorisation asks for a technical sheet, a test report, a notarised sworn declaration, the manufacturer's original letter addressed to the applicant, and the IBMETRO certificate (VUCE, checked 2026-10-28; page footer 2024) [13]. Ask the seller early whether they can supply these. We read these pages while checking a plug-in hybrid, and we do not know how they relate to the Aduana regulation below. Both are to be confirmed for your model.
- The Aduana published a regulation on certification of imported vehicles (RD 01-039-25, 26 May 2025) [15]. We could not read its text, so its requirements are to be confirmed.
Shipping to a landlocked country
Bolivia has no coast. In 2025, 96% of imports arrived by road, and the Arica and Iquique routes through Chile were among the three busiest [16]. A car shipped by sea reaches a Pacific port, then moves overland to Bolivia under customs transit. Port options are Arica or Iquique in Chile, and Matarani or Ilo in Peru. Bolivia's port-services agency ASP-B acts as the state's customs agent for Bolivian cargo in foreign ports. It reports traffic through Arica (Chile) and through Ilo and Matarani (Peru) (ASP-B article, 2025) [17]. Iquique also handles Bolivia-linked transit cargo (DF, 2026-01-02) [18]. Ask your forwarder and customs agent which port can handle vehicles for your shipment, and who runs the road leg. We found no transit times. Zeekr cars go through Peru: they land at Matarani and continue overland to Bolivia.
Registration in Santa Cruz and La Paz
Plates and vehicle registration are municipal competences, coordinated with the national police through the RUA registry (decree of 6 May 1997) [19]. We found no current checklist for Santa Cruz de la Sierra or La Paz, so the steps are to be confirmed with your customs agent and the municipal office. Nobody can promise the outcome.
Plug-in hybrids (example: Lynk & Co 900)
Most of this guide is about pure-electric cars. A plug-in hybrid has an engine and a battery, so a few rules differ. The Lynk & Co 900 is our example.
Model type
Plug-in hybrid. The official China page lists it under electrified hybrids, with 1.5T or 2.0T engines and rear single or dual motors [20]
Battery and range
52.38 kWh battery. Pure-electric range "up to 280 km" (CLTC), same page, checked 2026-10-28. Combined range is not stated there [20]
Steering
Left-hand drive for the China-market version. Confirm on the order
ICE
0% for new plug-in hybrids with a spark-ignition engine (HS 8703.60) in the Decree 5653 annex, until 31 Dec 2026. Rates after 2026 are not known [1]
Customs duty
Decree 4539 (2021) lists 0% for HS 8703.60, on an unofficial copy [2]. Your agent confirms the classification of the 900
IVA
13% general rate (Law 843) [6]. See the tax section for the 14.94% effective rate
Approvals
IBMETRO certificate (Resolution 119/2025 covers hybrids) and Vice-Ministry of Transport authorisation, with the manufacturer's letter and test report. See the customs section
Emissions
The 900 has an engine: check Euro II (see the Emissions section)
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Model type | Plug-in hybrid. The official China page lists it under electrified hybrids, with 1.5T or 2.0T engines and rear single or dual motors [20] |
| Battery and range | 52.38 kWh battery. Pure-electric range "up to 280 km" (CLTC), same page, checked 2026-10-28. Combined range is not stated there [20] |
| Steering | Left-hand drive for the China-market version. Confirm on the order |
| ICE | 0% for new plug-in hybrids with a spark-ignition engine (HS 8703.60) in the Decree 5653 annex, until 31 Dec 2026. Rates after 2026 are not known [1] |
| Customs duty | Decree 4539 (2021) lists 0% for HS 8703.60, on an unofficial copy [2]. Your agent confirms the classification of the 900 |
| IVA | 13% general rate (Law 843) [6]. See the tax section for the 14.94% effective rate |
| Approvals | IBMETRO certificate (Resolution 119/2025 covers hybrids) and Vice-Ministry of Transport authorisation, with the manufacturer's letter and test report. See the customs section |
| Emissions | The 900 has an engine: check Euro II (see the Emissions section) |
Warranty terms for a China-spec 900 are set by the carmaker. CRAVEUO EV Export does not promise a warranty. Ask for the written terms of your exact version and the name of a workshop in Bolivia before you pay.
China-side rules
Pure-electric passenger cars need a Chinese export licence from 1 Jan 2026 [21]. A car registered under 180 days before export needs the maker's after-sales confirmation [22]. Batteries ship as UN 3556, Class 9 dangerous goods, mandatory since 1 Jan 2026 [23].
How to work out your own total
Use the car price from your written quote. Your agent confirms each base when you order.
Customs value
Car price + freight and insurance to the Bolivian border (to be confirmed)
Customs duty
GA rate × customs value (0% [2])
ICE
ICE rate × base (0% to 31 Dec 2026 [1])
IVA
14.94% × (customs value + duty + other clearance charges) [3][9]
Verification fee
1% × FOB value [3]
| Step | Formula |
|---|---|
| Customs value | Car price + freight and insurance to the Bolivian border (to be confirmed) |
| Customs duty | GA rate × customs value (0% [2]) |
| ICE | ICE rate × base (0% to 31 Dec 2026 [1]) |
| IVA | 14.94% × (customs value + duty + other clearance charges) [3][9] |
| Verification fee | 1% × FOB value [3] |
For every US$10,000 of customs value with 0% duty and 0% ICE, IVA is about US$1,494 before other clearance charges. This leaves out China-side costs, Chilean port and road charges, agent fees, registration and the exporter's margin. The real total is higher.
Door delivery
Our default quote is delivered to your door on DAP terms, with a local customs agent we recommend. It is not DDP: you pay the taxes Bolivian customs assesses. We take no payment before a signed contract. We cannot promise registration or warranty. See all models and our FOB to landed price guide.
Häufige Fragen
Can I import a used Chinese electric car into Bolivia?
How much tax does a Chinese electric car pay in Bolivia?
Can I import a right-hand-drive car?
Can I register the car in Santa Cruz or La Paz?
Does Craveuo clear customs in Bolivia?
Is Bolivian IVA 13% or 14.94%?
Can I import a plug-in hybrid such as the Lynk & Co 900?
Fahrzeuge für den Einstieg
Möchten Sie eines dieser Fahrzeuge in Ihr Land verschiffen lassen?
Nennen Sie uns Ihr Land und die Version; wir antworten innerhalb eines Werktags mit einem FOB-Richtpreis und dem Exportweg.
Sources
- Gaceta Oficial de Bolivia, Decreto Supremo 5653 (consultation text hosted on eju.tv), 2026-07-09
- lexivox.org, Decreto Supremo 4539, 2021-07-07 (unofficial copy, not a legal reference)
- ibce.org.bo, import guide, undated (page read 2026-10-27; based on Aduana Nacional information)
- noticiasfides.com, 2015-12-01 (Decreto Supremo 2232; not re-verified for 2026)
- reduno.com.bo, 2026-07-10
- impuestos.gob.bo, Ley 843, version of 2026-07-31 (Art. 15, VAT 13%)
- trade.gov, Bolivia customs regulations, published 2026-03-25
- reduno.com.bo, 2026-01-02
- boliviaimpuestos.com, 2026-05-14 (private tax site, not an official text; IVA base)
- lexivox.org, Reglamento DS 28963, 2006-12-06 (unofficial copy, articles 6 and 9)
- dgaj.produccion.gob.bo, Resolución Ministerial 156/2020, 2020-07-30 (definition of a new vehicle, citing Decree 28963)
- lexivox.org, Decreto Supremo 4373, 2020-10-19 (Euro II requirement)
- vuce.gob.bo, prior authorisation for new vehicles, checked 2026-10-28 (page footer 2024)
- ibmetro.gob.bo, Certificado de Aceptación, checked 2026-10-28 (Ministerial Resolutions 064/2022 and 119/2025)
- aduana.gob.bo, RD 01-039-25, 2025-05-26 (title and date only; text not read)
- ibce.org.bo, weekly bulletin 602, 2026-02-05
- aspb.gob.bo, ASP-B article, 2025 (checked 2026-10-28)
- df.cl, Puerto de Iquique, 2026-01-02 (checked 2026-10-28)
- lexivox.org, Decreto Supremo 24604, 1997-05-06 (unofficial copy)
- lynkco.com.cn, Lynk & Co 900 (official China page), checked 2026-10-28
- electrive.com, 2025-09-26
- yicai.com, notice signed 2025-11-11 (Chinese; four-ministry notice on used-car export management, 180-day rule effective 2026-01-01); also news.cn, 2025-11-15
- britanniapandi.com, 2025-12-18
Last updated: 2026-10-30
Dieser Leitfaden ist keine Rechts- oder Zollberatung; maßgeblich sind der Zoll des Ziellandes und ein zugelassener Zollagent.




