CRAVEUO
巴黎地下车库里罩着防尘车衣存放的汽车
巴黎地下车库里罩着防尘车衣存放的汽车 · 图片:Mathious Ier, Wikimedia Commons, CC0 (cropped)

购车指南更新于 2026 年 11 月 1 日

How to store an electric car for weeks or months (2026)

本指南目前只有英文版。

CRAVEUO EV Export · Sources last checked 2026-11-01 · General information. Your owner's manual comes first. Nothing here is a promise or a quote.

Quick answer

Yes, you can leave an electric car unused for months if you prepare it. Many makers suggest a charge of about 40% to 60%, a cool and dry place, and a top-up every month to three months. Never let the battery run down to empty while the car sits, because the damage may not be covered by the warranty. Rules differ by maker, and the 12V battery often needs its own care.

What makers say

  • BYD Atto 3

    Charge level: 40% to 60% if parked over 7 days. Over 3 months: fully charge, then discharge to 40% to 60%

    How often: Monthly start suggested

    Source: Manual, printed pp. 96, 167

  • XPENG (Australia)

    Charge level: 30% to 60%

    How often: Check every 3 months; another guide says about monthly

    Source: Battery care, storage

  • Kia

    Charge level: Not stated

    How often: Charge once every 3 months

    Source: Manual

  • Ford Mustang Mach-E

    Charge level: About 50% for 30 days or more

    How often: Not stated here

    Source: AAA

  • Hyundai

    Charge level: 70% to 80%

    How often: Not stated here

    Source: AAA

Recurrent's list by brand shows just as much variety. Some makers want the car plugged in with a low limit. Others want it unplugged. Recurrent gives Hyundai advice that differs from AAA's, so check your own manual.

Before you leave the car

  1. Set the charge. Use your manual's figure. For the Atto 3, BYD says 40% to 60% (printed p. 96).
  2. Choose the place. BYD says to park indoors if possible (printed p. 167). XPENG says cool, dry and ventilated, and to avoid low, damp spots. Kia warns that high temperatures can reduce capacity.
  3. Protect the 12V battery. BYD's list says to disconnect its negative terminal (printed p. 167) for stops over a month. AAA mentions a battery tender as another option. Check what stops working once it is disconnected.
  4. Clean and dry it. BYD says to clean the body and dry the carpets and mats (printed p. 167).
  5. Handle the small things. BYD lists:
  • Release the parking brake and select P.
  • Open one window slightly if stored indoors.
  • Keep the wiper arm off the glass with a folded cloth.
  • Use a breathable cover, not plastic sheeting, which traps moisture.
  1. Think about pests and tyres. AAA says to choose a rodent-free place, because nests can damage wiring. Recurrent says to inflate tyres to the recommended pressure.
  2. Keep your insurance active. Recurrent lists this too. Ask your insurer about the rules for an unused car.

Plug in or not?

It depends on the maker. Recurrent's list shows Tesla, Audi and BMW among those favouring plugged-in storage, and Ford and Nissan among those favouring unplugged. If your car stays plugged in, set the limit your manual gives, not 100%.

How much charge will it lose?

Recurrent says to expect a few percentage points a month, and more on cars with many online features. Kia says charge can gradually decrease when a car is idle. Our suggestion: measure it. Note the charge when you leave and again after a week if you can, and adjust.

Tesla owners are told to limit app checks and turn off Sentry Mode, according to Recurrent. The idea carries over: fewer wake-ups use less energy.

The warranty risk

BYD is clear. If a car left for over three months is not prepared, over-discharge may degrade or damage the battery (printed p. 96), and the resulting fault will not be warranted. XPENG says never leave a high-voltage battery fully discharged.

When you come back

  1. Reconnect the 12V battery if you disconnected it.
  2. Check tyre pressures. XPENG says they may be slightly low after weeks parked.
  3. Fully charge the car. BYD says the charge reading may be wrong (printed p. 93) after a long idle period, and recommends this first. See our charging guide.
  4. Look under the car and in the boot for pests or damp.
  5. BYD says to take the car to a dealer or service provider (printed p. 167) if it has been parked for a year or more.

常见问题

Can a car sit for 6 months?
Yes, if prepared, and if someone can top it up as your manual requires. Without any top-up, follow your maker's limit. Kia's interval is three months.
Why not store it full?
BYD advises against it for the Atto 3: 40% to 60%, or battery life suffers (printed p. 96). Some makers set other figures.
Is it safe to store an EV in a very hot place?
Avoid it. BYD says not to leave the Atto 3 over 24 hours above 60°C (printed p. 97). See our heat guide.
And in a very cold place?
BYD suggests a warmer place such as an underground garage (printed p. 92).
I just received an imported car that sat for weeks. Is that a problem?
Follow the return steps above. Ask the seller what charge the car was kept at, and check the manual for the first full charge.

想要这款车,或者想问问出口到你的国家?

告诉我们你的国家和版本,一个工作日内回复 FOB 参考价和出口路线。

本指南不是法律或报关意见,以当地海关和持牌报关行为准。