CRAVEUO
充电枪插在一辆蓝色电动车的充电口上
充电枪插在一辆蓝色电动车的充电口上 · 图片:Shixart1985, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0

购车指南更新于 2026 年 11 月 1 日

Should you charge your EV to 100%? LFP and NMC compared (2026)

本指南目前只有英文版。

CRAVEUO EV Export · Sources last checked 2026-11-01 · General information. Your owner's manual comes first. Nothing here is a promise or a quote.

Quick answer

It depends on the battery in your car. Many long-range nickel (NMC) packs are meant to stop at about 80% for daily use, with 100% saved for long trips. Many iron-phosphate (LFP) packs need a regular full charge, about once a week or two, so the car can keep its charge reading accurate. The rule in your own owner's manual decides. First find out which battery you have.

What makers say

  • BYD Atto 3

    Daily limit: Not stated as a limit

    Full charge: At least once a week. From below 10% to full every three to six months

    Source: Manual, printed p. 93

  • Kia, standard and extended batteries

    Daily limit: About 80%

    Full charge: When below 20%: charge to 100% once a month

    Source: Owner's manual

  • Kia, economy battery

    Daily limit: Not stated as a limit

    Full charge: At least once every two weeks

    Source: Owner's manual

  • XPENG (Australia), battery care guide

    Daily limit: Stop around 90%

    Full charge: Every two weeks or 1,000 km

    Source: XPENG guide

  • XPENG (Australia), LFP and NMC guide

    Daily limit: LFP and NMC: about 80%

    Full charge: LFP: at least once a week

    Source: XPENG guide

Two things stand out. The Kia page does not say which chemistry each battery type uses. And XPENG's two guides do not agree on the daily limit, so even one maker can give more than one answer. When a guide and your manual differ, follow the manual.

Why the advice differs

NMC

XPENG says the consensus is to keep NMC between 20% and 80% for daily use and save 100% for trips. Geotab's fleet data fits this: cars that spent over 80% of their time at extreme charge levels lost 2.0% a year, against 1.4% for those under 50%.

LFP

XPENG says a weekly full charge is needed to reset the battery management system. In plain terms, the car works out how full the pack is, and a full charge gives it a reference point. BYD also says the charge reading may be wrong (printed p. 93) after first use or a long idle period, and recommends charging fully first.

How to find out which battery you have

  1. Look at the specification sheet for your exact version. Some models have both. XPENG's X9, for example, uses LFP in one version and NCM in another.
  2. Check the manual for a line on full charges.
  3. Ask the seller to confirm the chemistry in writing.

BYD's Blade Battery uses LFP, according to Global Fleet. The Atto 3 manual we read does not name the chemistry. Don't assume from the brand alone, because chemistry can vary by model and version.

A simple routine

If your manual says about 80%

  1. Set the charge limit to 80%.
  2. Charge to 100% just before a long trip, and leave soon after.
  3. Use slower charging at home when you can. Kia recommends AC and fast charging only when needed.

If your manual asks for regular full charges

  1. Charge to 100% at the interval it gives.
  2. For the Atto 3, also do the low-to-full charge every three to six months (printed p. 93).

For both

常见问题

Does charging to 100% damage the battery?
An occasional full charge before a trip is normal for any car. Regular 100% on a battery meant for 80% can add wear over the years. Kia's manual compares the two.
Is 80% right for every EV?
No. Kia's economy battery and the BYD Atto 3 both ask for regular full charges.
What is the risk of never charging an LFP car to 100%?
The range and charge readings may become less accurate. XPENG says the full charge is needed to reset the battery system. Your car may then show a figure you can't rely on.
Is it fine to fast charge to 100%?
Kia suggests using fast charging only when needed. For a regular full charge, AC at home is the gentler way.
My China-market car has no English manual. What now?
Ask the seller for the battery chemistry and the charge guidance in writing, in a language you read. For plugs and home charging, see our charging guide.

想要这款车,或者想问问出口到你的国家?

告诉我们你的国家和版本,一个工作日内回复 FOB 参考价和出口路线。

Sources (checked 2026-11-01)

  1. BYD: Atto 3 owner's manual, English edition; printed page numbers
  2. Kia: high-voltage battery, with battery types, owner's manual
  3. Kia: high-voltage battery, owner's manual
  4. XPENG Australia: EV battery care, maker's guide
  5. XPENG Australia: LFP and NMC batteries, maker's guide
  6. Geotab: EV battery health, page dated 2026-04-28
  7. Global Fleet: EV battery life, 2026-01-29

本指南不是法律或报关意见,以当地海关和持牌报关行为准。