
购车指南更新于 2026 年 10 月 30 日
How to import a Chinese electric car to Ghana (2026)
本指南目前只有英文版。
CRAVEUO EV Export · Rules last checked 2026-10-30 · General information, not legal advice
Quick answer
Each new model must be homologated by the Ghana Standards Authority before it ships, and customs puts hybrid and electric passenger cars in the 20% duty band. Right-hand drive is barred.
Key facts
Example 1: Roewe D6
Pure electric. The official page lists CLTC combined range up to 520 km and consumption as low as 10.6 kWh per 100 km (CLTC)
Example 2: Geely Galaxy M9
Plug-in hybrid ("EM-P" system). The official page states CLTC combined range "1500+ km". Battery capacity is not stated on the page
Steering
Ghana drives on the right (World Standards, updated 2026-01-23). Importing right-hand-drive vehicles is prohibited by law, and the road safety authority publicly criticised customs for weak enforcement (Adomonline, 2026-04-09). Order left-hand drive
Duty
Customs places standard hybrid and electric passenger vehicles in the 20% band, reflecting the ECOWAS Common External Tariff (Graphic, 2026-07-23)
Type approval
New vehicle models must be homologated by the Ghana Standards Authority before shipment (GSA notice no. GSA/DGS/PN/26/09, 2026-08-14)
VAT and levies
VAT 15%, NHIL 2.5%, GETFund 2.5% from 1 January 2026 (EY, 2026-01-12). Ask how they apply to your import
Typical transit time
Set by the ship schedule. The quote states it
Charging
Ghana is listed as Type 2 (AC) and CCS2 (DC); China uses GB/T (World Standards, updated 2026-01-25). Ask which inlet your version has
Export customs (China)
A licensed Chinese exporter declares the car
Warranty
Set by the carmaker's written terms. CRAVEUO EV Export does not promise a warranty
| Item | Detail (source, checked 2026-10-28) |
|---|---|
| Example 1: Roewe D6 | Pure electric. The official page lists CLTC combined range up to 520 km and consumption as low as 10.6 kWh per 100 km (CLTC) |
| Example 2: Geely Galaxy M9 | Plug-in hybrid ("EM-P" system). The official page states CLTC combined range "1500+ km". Battery capacity is not stated on the page |
| Steering | Ghana drives on the right (World Standards, updated 2026-01-23). Importing right-hand-drive vehicles is prohibited by law, and the road safety authority publicly criticised customs for weak enforcement (Adomonline, 2026-04-09). Order left-hand drive |
| Duty | Customs places standard hybrid and electric passenger vehicles in the 20% band, reflecting the ECOWAS Common External Tariff (Graphic, 2026-07-23) |
| Type approval | New vehicle models must be homologated by the Ghana Standards Authority before shipment (GSA notice no. GSA/DGS/PN/26/09, 2026-08-14) |
| VAT and levies | VAT 15%, NHIL 2.5%, GETFund 2.5% from 1 January 2026 (EY, 2026-01-12). Ask how they apply to your import |
| Typical transit time | Set by the ship schedule. The quote states it |
| Charging | Ghana is listed as Type 2 (AC) and CCS2 (DC); China uses GB/T (World Standards, updated 2026-01-25). Ask which inlet your version has |
| Export customs (China) | A licensed Chinese exporter declares the car |
| Warranty | Set by the carmaker's written terms. CRAVEUO EV Export does not promise a warranty |
Models to ask about
China guide prices, not delivered prices. Ask whether your exact model is homologated before you order.
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥107,800
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥119,900
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥109,800
Type: Battery-electric
China guide price from: ¥119,900
Type: Plug-in hybrid
China guide price from: ¥183,800
| Model | Type | China guide price from |
|---|---|---|
| Geely EX5 | Battery-electric | ¥107,800 |
| BYD Atto 3 | Battery-electric | ¥119,900 |
| Aion V | Battery-electric | ¥109,800 |
| Changan Qiyuan A06 | Battery-electric | ¥119,900 |
| Geely Galaxy M9 (Geely M9) | Plug-in hybrid | ¥183,800 |
Step by step: from order to registration
- Ask the Ghana Standards Authority Vehicle Homologation Unit (auto@gsa.gov.gh, listed on its notice) whether your exact model is homologated, and register with it. People importing for personal use must register too (GSA FAQ, 2026-08-12).
- Appoint a licensed clearing agent in Ghana. Ask for the current duty and tax figures for your model type (electric, plug-in hybrid or range-extender) in writing.
- Choose model, version and colour. Order left-hand drive.
- Ask which licensed Chinese company will declare the car for export. Sign the contract and invoice. Pay only to a company bank account whose name matches the invoice.
- The exporter declares the car in China and ships it to Ghana. The GSA's notice and FAQ apply to vehicles shipped from 1 October 2026.
- Your agent files the declaration. Customs classifies the car by its chassis number (VIN), so the declared specification must match the car (Graphic, 2026-07-23).
- Register and plate the car in Ghana. We could not confirm the current steps: ask a licensed clearing agent.
Import rules in Ghana
- Homologation: the Ghana Standards Authority (GSA) says strict enforcement of its national vehicle standards starts on 1 October 2026. All new vehicle importers, distributors, manufacturers and assemblers must register with the GSA Vehicle Homologation Unit and ensure all new vehicle models are homologated before shipment. Vehicles shipped before 1 October 2026, or already in Ghana, are not affected (GSA notice, 2026-08-14, checked 2026-10-28).
- Suspension in October: on 5 October 2026 the GSA suspended pre-shipment inspection of imported used vehicles and said a new date would follow (notice GSA/DGS/PN/26/11). The notice does not mention new-model homologation, so we do not know whether anything changes for a new car. Ask the GSA before you ship.
- What homologation needs: technical documentation and test reports from recognised testing facilities, and the GSA inspects sample vehicles of each model. The GSA is launching an electronic system that will record registered dealers, importers and conformity certificates (GTAI, 2026-09-22, checked 2026-10-28).
- Duty: standard hybrid and electric passenger vehicles fall in the 20% band under the current tariff. Duty is calculated on CIF value and VAT is charged on CIF plus duty (Graphic, 2026-07-23, checked 2026-10-28). VAT is 15%, with NHIL and GETFund at 2.5% each (EY, 2026-01-12), and the COVID levy was abolished in the 2026 budget (EY). The figure for your model: ask a licensed clearing agent.
- Electric-vehicle waiver: a 2024 budget proposal to waive duty for eight years applied to electric vehicles for public transport and did not apply to fully built electric cars for personal use (trade.gov, 2023-12-27, checked 2026-10-28). We found no official 2026 notice extending a waiver to privately imported cars.
- Age: the age limits in the GSA notice concern used vehicles, which are barred above 15 years. Customs also applies an over-age penalty to vehicles older than 10 years (Graphic, 2026-07-23). A new car is outside both rules. Reports of the limit differ between 10 and 15 years for used cars: confirm with a licensed clearing agent if you consider a used car.
- Steering: right-hand-drive imports are prohibited (Adomonline, 2026-04-09).
- Registration: not confirmed. Ask a licensed clearing agent.
Export from China in 2026
Since 1 January 2026, pure-electric passenger cars need a MOFCOM export licence (Announcement 2025 No. 54, issued 2025-09-26, checked 2026-10-28). The licence notice covers pure-electric cars only, such as the Roewe D6. Plug-in hybrids and range-extenders, such as the Galaxy M9, fall under MOFCOM's 2012 rules (issued 2012-09-06), which tie car exports to carmaker qualification and carmaker-authorised export operators. In practice the car is declared by a licensed exporter, not by the buyer. Ask any seller which licensed company will declare your car. CRAVEUO EV Export does not claim authorisation from any carmaker.
Documents list
- Commercial invoice, packing list and bill of lading
- Certificate of origin and export declaration
- Vehicle certificate showing the VIN and specification
- Proof that the model is homologated by the GSA, and the importer's GSA registration
- Customs declaration prepared by your clearing agent
FAQ
How much duty does an electric car pay in Ghana?
Customs places standard hybrid and electric passenger vehicles in the 20% band, with VAT charged on CIF plus duty. A 2024 waiver proposal covered public-transport electric vehicles, not private cars. Ask a licensed clearing agent for your model.
Does a new Chinese EV need approval before shipping to Ghana?
Yes. The Ghana Standards Authority requires each new vehicle model to be homologated before shipment, and importers to register with it, for vehicles shipped from 1 October 2026. A later notice suspended pre-shipment inspection of used vehicles and does not mention new models, so confirm with the GSA.
Is there an age limit for new cars?
The age limits concern used vehicles: the GSA bars those over 15 years, and customs applies a penalty above 10 years. A new car is outside both rules.
Can I import a right-hand-drive electric car to Ghana?
No. Importing right-hand-drive vehicles is prohibited. Order left-hand drive.
Does a China-spec car come with a warranty?
The carmaker's written terms decide. CRAVEUO EV Export does not promise a warranty. Ask for the written terms and a workshop address in Ghana before you pay.
Have a model in mind? Send an inquiry through the form at www.craveuo.com with your country, model and quantity.
可以先看的车
Sources
https://www.roewe.com.cn/vehicles/d6/
Supports: Roewe D6 pure electric, CLTC range, consumption (official brand page)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://www.galaxy-geely.com/M9
Supports: Galaxy M9 powertrain, CLTC combined range (official brand page)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://www.worldstandards.eu/cars/list-of-left-driving-countries/
Supports: Drive side (updated 2026-01-23)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://www.adomonline.com/youre-not-helping-nrsa-boss-criticises-customs-over-weak-enforcement-of-right-hand-car-ban/
Supports: Right-hand-drive ban and enforcement (2026-04-09)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://www.graphic.com.gh/news/general-news/explained-what-you-need-to-know-before-importing-a-car-to-ghana.html
Supports: 20% band, VAT base, over-age penalty, VIN (2026-07-23)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://gsa.gov.gh/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Public-Notice_Administrative-Implementation_National-Vehicle-Standards-2.pdf
Supports: GSA notice GSA/DGS/PN/26/09 (2026-08-14)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://www.gtai.de/de/trade/ghana/zoll/ghana-konformitaet-fahrzeuge-2028314
Supports: Homologation process, sample inspection (2026-09-22)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://www.trade.gov/market-intelligence/ghana-electrical-vehicle-tariffs
Supports: EV duty waiver proposal, public transport only (2023-12-27)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://gsa.gov.gh/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/GHANA-VEHICLE-IMPORT-FAQs-BROCHURE_2026-08-13B-2.pdf
Supports: GSA FAQ (2026-08-12)
Checked: 2026-10-30
https://gsa.gov.gh/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/Document-1-1.pdf
Supports: GSA notice GSA/DGS/PN/26/11 (2026-10-05)
Checked: 2026-10-30
https://taxnews.ey.com/news/2026-0163-ghanas-parliament-enacts-several-indirect-tax-related-laws-effective-1-january-2026
Supports: VAT, NHIL, GETFund from 1 January 2026
Checked: 2026-10-30
https://www.ey.com/en_gl/technical/tax-alerts/ghanas-finance-minister-presents-2026-budget-statement-and-economic-policy
Supports: COVID levy abolished
Checked: 2026-10-30
https://www.worldstandards.eu/cars/ev-connector-inlet-by-country/
Supports: Connector types (updated 2026-01-25)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://www.mofcom.gov.cn/zfxxgk/fdzdgknr/ztfl/dwmygl/art/2025/art_bcd653aa3c5b41ecae19386c12d34cc3.html
Supports: Announcement 2025 No. 54 (2025-09-26)
Checked: 2026-10-28
https://www.mofcom.gov.cn/zcfb/zgdwjjmywg/art/2012/art_bc15755f9b1642b99eac7cc212cce54b.html
Supports: 2012 notice (2012-09-06)
Checked: 2026-10-28
| URL | Supports | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| https://www.roewe.com.cn/vehicles/d6/ | Roewe D6 pure electric, CLTC range, consumption (official brand page) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://www.galaxy-geely.com/M9 | Galaxy M9 powertrain, CLTC combined range (official brand page) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://www.worldstandards.eu/cars/list-of-left-driving-countries/ | Drive side (updated 2026-01-23) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://www.adomonline.com/youre-not-helping-nrsa-boss-criticises-customs-over-weak-enforcement-of-right-hand-car-ban/ | Right-hand-drive ban and enforcement (2026-04-09) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://www.graphic.com.gh/news/general-news/explained-what-you-need-to-know-before-importing-a-car-to-ghana.html | 20% band, VAT base, over-age penalty, VIN (2026-07-23) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://gsa.gov.gh/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/Public-Notice_Administrative-Implementation_National-Vehicle-Standards-2.pdf | GSA notice GSA/DGS/PN/26/09 (2026-08-14) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://www.gtai.de/de/trade/ghana/zoll/ghana-konformitaet-fahrzeuge-2028314 | Homologation process, sample inspection (2026-09-22) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://www.trade.gov/market-intelligence/ghana-electrical-vehicle-tariffs | EV duty waiver proposal, public transport only (2023-12-27) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://gsa.gov.gh/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/GHANA-VEHICLE-IMPORT-FAQs-BROCHURE_2026-08-13B-2.pdf | GSA FAQ (2026-08-12) | 2026-10-30 |
| https://gsa.gov.gh/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/Document-1-1.pdf | GSA notice GSA/DGS/PN/26/11 (2026-10-05) | 2026-10-30 |
| https://taxnews.ey.com/news/2026-0163-ghanas-parliament-enacts-several-indirect-tax-related-laws-effective-1-january-2026 | VAT, NHIL, GETFund from 1 January 2026 | 2026-10-30 |
| https://www.ey.com/en_gl/technical/tax-alerts/ghanas-finance-minister-presents-2026-budget-statement-and-economic-policy | COVID levy abolished | 2026-10-30 |
| https://www.worldstandards.eu/cars/ev-connector-inlet-by-country/ | Connector types (updated 2026-01-25) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://www.mofcom.gov.cn/zfxxgk/fdzdgknr/ztfl/dwmygl/art/2025/art_bcd653aa3c5b41ecae19386c12d34cc3.html | Announcement 2025 No. 54 (2025-09-26) | 2026-10-28 |
| https://www.mofcom.gov.cn/zcfb/zgdwjjmywg/art/2012/art_bc15755f9b1642b99eac7cc212cce54b.html | 2012 notice (2012-09-06) | 2026-10-28 |
本指南不是法律或报关意见,以当地海关和持牌报关行为准。




